Monday, 08 August 2022

Freedom of the Parish

Hertford Heath Freedom of the Village

Your Council

At the discretion of the Parish Council, local residents can be awarded the Honorary Freedom of the Parish of Hertford Heath.

Each freeman receives a hand-made scroll.  There have only been four awards granted.

Serving the community

The first award was made to the late Fred Harrington who served on the Parish Council from 1947 to 1991 and was the first Chairman of the new parish of Hertford Heath when it was formed.

The second award was made to Lilly Bean who, as well as serving for many years on the Parish Council was also a magistrate and Justice of the Peace. Lilly worked for the over sixties and the Horticultural Society and was a school governor at Hertford Heath School. Lily died on 25th April 2001.

In January 2000 Gerald Nix was the third person to be honoured in such a way.   Gerald died in February 2007.

Bob Akers

The most recent recipient and only the fourth person to receive the award was Bob Akers who lived in Trinity Road and passed away in early 2022.

Bob lived in the village all his life and has always been involved in local life. In his time, he has been chairman of the parish council, president of the horticultural society and organiser of the annual firework display.  He served the community for seven decades.

Keen on sport, he also participated in football, cricket and, carpet bowls and still found time to support the senior citizens group.

site new